Square Skirt

I hardly ever wear pants, even in winter I’m in skirts and dresses, and skirts are so easy to whip up. On mega cut out day I cut out the Square Skirt. I used a basic skirt pattern I had picked up from the St Vinnies shop and for once as a second hand vintage pattern it was in my size.
image

Simplicity 7142 is a basic A-line skirt on a waistband. I cut the shortest view and it fell below my knees, so I had to cut several inches off it before I hemmed it. The only other modification I made was to insert pockets. I drafted up a pocket in a similar style to a jean pocket.. mostly I just winged it using a saucer for the curve.
image

I made the insert for the back of the pockets from a dark brown sheet that I picked up secondhand a few years ago. Since the pattern of my main fabric is so busy I thought this would help break it up a bit.

This skirt came together easily, I had to make a few adjustments to the darts to bring in the waist a little, but then it was all done. I did my first ever button hole using the whizzy foot and stitches on my new machine. I have always been a bit scared of buttonholes but I think I am over that fear now. image

I will definitely use this pattern again as it is really comfy to wear and so easy to make. In fact I have some awesome gnome fabric that is calling to be a simple skirt.

2 thoughts on “Square Skirt

  1. Pingback: 11/52 On the Rebound again and meeting new peeps | Flossie FT

  2. Pingback: More Skirts – a couple of cords. | Flossie FT

Leave a Reply

