Cooler weather creations.

It has been a bit quiet on the sewing but I am still playing catch up on posting about what I made earlier in the month. As soon as daylight savings hit Wellington the weather also turned to autumn. Inspired by this I made a couple of scarves that I had been thinking about for a while. I got a few small remnants from Fabric Warehouse recently that are about 50-60cm (the width of the fabric is about 140-150cm). I wanted to make a mobius strip or loop scarf but with 2 different fabrics. This meant I had to get the short seams to join with matching fabrics.

Here pictures make sense:
image
With only one twist the fabrics don’t match.
image
With two twists the fabrics do. This bought me to the question (after I had made two of these) so why twist at all? Ummm… I suppose I didn’t have too but it looks nicer when just hanging loose around your neck (at least I think so).
See…
image

image

image

As I was making these my littlest boy asked for his own scarf so I dug in the stash and made these for the boys.

I also got the knitting needles out and made some wrist warmers from this pattern I found on Ravelry.
image

They were simple as they are knitted flat with the width on the needles running down the arm. I love this and will wear them once it gets cooler and I when can find them as Lewis took them for a walk as part of a superhero costume.
image

I also just finished an amazing bag. Inspired by a stall at the Knack market – I cannot find an online contact to the stall – I made a swandri bag. I got the swanni from the op-shop for $25 and the the handles for $2 and lining for $2 both from Fabric-a-brac on Sunday. I will post my other great buys from there soon.
image

image

And finally… me made may is here. So…
‘I, Sandra of ‘flossie ft’ blog sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’13. I endeavour to wear at least one item of clothing each day for the duration of May 2013.’

Also I am taking part in the WSBN burda sew along. I have a Burda dress traced out as well as a few other items in my plan so watch this space.

2 thoughts on “Cooler weather creations.

  1. For some reason I can’t see your photos on any of the devices I’ve looked on, some sort of publishing issue? But I’ve seen the scarves in person and they are very cool!

  2. Pingback: Fabric-a-brac creations | Fabric-a-brac

Leave a Reply

