More Skirts – a couple of cords.

At christmas when shopping in Palmerston North I picked up this cute green cord. It reminds me of the bad christmas sweaters that you see on American tv shows. I instantly pictured a simple straight skirt in a similar style to a jean skirt and it was only $8 a metre.
image

I used Simplicity 7142 that I used for my square skirt. This time I omitted the waistband and made an interfaced cotton facing. I remembered to insert pockets in the side seams using green cotton napkins that I have been saving for this kind of thing. When it came to putting in the zipper I had a bunch of skirt length zips but to be different I decided to go with an exposed black metal zip. I don’t really like the trend of exposed zips but I think it is growing on me especially as they are really easy to put in this way.

image

Pockets, waistband, zip

In my cutting out I carefully lined up the stripes in the pieces and to my relief when I sewed it up they matched. If I used this pattern again…and I’m sure I will… I need to remove about 5cms off the length of the skirt as I have had to remove it off both skirts made so far.

image

Since it is winter I also got another piece of cord from the Salvation Army for about $6. This has a wider wale than the green and I managed to eek out a skirt by making the pockets and waistband from different material. I chose a different skirt pattern – Simplicity 9104. I like the square pocket tops and the yoke at the back which I think gets a little lost on this fabric.
image
I shortened the skirt to knee length and did a cut and slash on the pattern to fit my measurements – which worked quite nicely.
I decided to have a little fun since this is a boring brown cord skirt so I made pockets and waistband facing from the red cotton with green mushrooms that I used on my obi.

image

Cheeky mushrooms

I also finished the insides with hong kong seams using ladybird bias binding from Made on Marion.

image

Cute seams

I managed to do a covered zip fly and another buttonhole to finished the waistband. Overall this is a very comfy skirt that I have worn to work and around about at weekends… and I have finally got around to taking a photo with me in it!
image

3 thoughts on “More Skirts – a couple of cords.

  1. I love corduroy skirts, so comfy and touchable. The reindeer one is very cool, bet lots of people are staring at your behind trying to work out the print ha ha!

Leave a Reply

