18/52 Spots Spots and Dots

I have been wearing this dress for the last couple of weeks and when we got home the other night I quickly got Andrew to take some photos so I could share it with you. This dotty dress is straight out of the packet – a Kwik Sew pattern from the op-shop which I have mislaid at the moment. The fit is pretty much right – I could take some out of the waist but I am going with that it is designed to be blousy.
image

I got the rayon from the Salvation Army store in for $8 so this was an easy and cheap make that I think I can wear year round as I can put a slip on and tights in winter and it is light enough layering with the changeable spring weather. I picked up the belt to go with it from the op-shop as well as the self covered belt was always going to get lost with this fabric.
image

I sewed 90% of this at social sewing which meant I used french seams in it as I did not have my overlocker at my side. Although I did get distracted talking at one point and put my pocket in sideways… which I realised after I had trimmed the seam and top stitched it down. I managed to focus enough to trace off another pocket piece from the tiny handful of scraps I had left over and fixed it up once I stopped laughing.
image
On a side note…how amazing is my husband…this is the birthday cake he made me. It is an orange camel like an animal biscuit. And there is a bonus shark cake from the leftover piece!
image

6 thoughts on “18/52 Spots Spots and Dots

  1. Pingback: Frocktober 2013 | Flossie FT

Leave a Reply

