Stash Swap and WIP

A few months ago Penny at Dresses and Me set up a winter stash swap, I signed up and the other day I got a marvellous present in the mail from Juliet of Crazy Gypsy Chronicals.  It was a great package that contained all this:

image

Left: 3m of a cotton blend (i think) mini houndstooth

Centre: 4m of vintage style flowery red/pink cotton

Right: 2m of orange/red flower print light weight polyester

and these AMAZING buttons.

IMG_20130905_171653So I am inspired to make a shirt dress with a fullish skirt out of the houndstooth – maybe with the buttons on the front… or green ones for contrast.  I think i will use McCalls M4769 as a  starting point – I don’t want buttons on the skirt though.

The middle floral will become a summer dress proably in New Look 6589 or butterick B5214.

The third piece of fabric might have to mature in my stash as my current Work in Progress list looks like this:

  • Put in Zip, Hem,  and buttons on sleeveson my Black retro 70s dress.
  • Top stitch front, sew  on buttons, handsew sleeves to lining on Grey blue Jacket for Lewis before he grows out of it.
  • Continue with Rainbow Nougat dress, I have 1/3 of the outer fabric cut/sewn
  • Sew up facing and armholes on Bird singlet top
  • Finish hair on the Princess and Pea topsy turvy doll.  Make 20 matresses and a duvet.
Progressing on my Rainbouw Nougat Dress

Progressing on my Rainbouw Nougat Dress

I also have a pile of projects that have been cut out but not sewn yet:

  • Winnie the pooh costume for Alex
  • Sliver stripe tee
  • Black pin stripe skirt.
  • Grey vogue dress.
  • A Vintage Vogue 6078 dress in blueish cotton sateen
Vintage Vogue 6078

Vintage Vogue 6078

And then there is the list of projects I want to do…. this is the one that constantly gets re-arranged in my head and why the other two lists exist above 🙂

  • Hoodies with screenprinting for each family member
  • Robot shorts for lewis.
  • Summer hats for both boys
  • Coffee date dress in coffee/black abstract print cotton sateen
  • Frill neck wrap dress in navy spots
  • Blue stars dress in Vintage pattern with full skirt style
  • Black silk tap pants
  • Vintage vogue skirt in grey wool
  • Snake print skirt
  • White bird shirt based on temt one, using cross over vogue pattern.
  • Green jacket – take apart muslin, cut out and complete
  • Ninja turtle costume for halloween
  • Wolfpack singlets for boys

Luckily I have a sewing weekend planned ahead.

6 thoughts on “Stash Swap and WIP

  1. WOW you are a busy bee aren’t you! looking forward to seing what you get up to with your goodies – I always loved those fabrics but could never think of a suitable project for them, so to see them made up will be wonderful! And I’m glad you like the buttons! I saw them and thought they had your name written all over them 🙂

  2. Wow, you’re busy! I really like your drawing of the Rainbow Nougat dress, the colors are amazing! Looking forward to seeing the finished dress!

Leave a Reply

