Christmas is coming…

I have been getting festive…and dangerous with the hot glue gun. I was inspired by pintrest christmas decorations and managed to rummage through the stash to find some fun scraps for my makes.

I started with my key pinterest make which is a set of Retro fabric lights. I found some cute scraps a fabric and made a basic template based on the tutorial at Kojo Designs. For the reels at the top I gave a vague description to Mrs C at Made Marion and she led me to these cute little wooden cotton reels that are a little over 1cm high.
image
I didn’t have any flash red/white bakers twine so I used embroidery thread. I only deviated from the tutorial by sewing the thread into the top of the ‘bulbs’ instead of gluing it to the fabric. I would have taken photos of this but I was too busy burning my thumb on the hot glue gun…also not part of the tutorial.
image
I am stoked with how this turned out and may make another set soon.
image

I also intend to create some felt decorations but I haven’t finished them yet, including some fleece Gingerbread men. Decorations are not complete as I got distracted by making some neck pillows for the boys for Christmas.

image
I basically winged the pattern by measuring the youngest around the neck, creating a U shape and cutting out a bunch! I made the yellow piping using some thin cord and bias tape (again from Made Marion). Everything else was from the stash. The inners are cotton and filled with beanbag beans.
image
I made a couple of extras for my nieces as presents.
image

Also my friend Ness who I have known forever has started a blog of her crafty
creations. So If you want to be inspired by more Christmas decorations check out Nowls Nest

Leave a Reply

