25/52 Deer & Doe-ish

Recently the WSBN decided to do Deer & Doe patterns at Staglands. I don’t own any of these and was not inclined to purchase one so I decided to use an ’80s pattern to make a homage to the Belladone.
image

I like the simple lines of this dress. I used a pattern from the 80s for the bodice which had triangles on the back. Not the same as the inspiration but I like them. The skirt was just a simple rectangle with a slight hip curve that was pleated with two large pleats in front as per the Belladone and darts in the back.
image
Since it was deer and doe inspired I appliqued a stag head that I traced off a search through Google images. The same fabric is the lining on the back and inside the pockets.
image
The back is fastened with a button and a zip and hook and eye on the skirt. I had to insert the zip twice, the first time I had to take out as the skirt was too big. It almost broke my heart as it had gone in perfectly, thankfully the second time was almost as good.
image
Did I mention it had pockets. Since I was basically making this up as I went I borrowed a pocket piece from another pattern, but I forgot it had no seam allowance so they are perfectly finished but a little small. They do fit my hands but mot my wallet.

image

The fabric is a cotton weave that frayed like mad so I overlooked all my edges. I did a burn test to figure out it was cotton. It is quite stiff so I think it might be furnishing weight. I have no idea when or where I got it.
image
I love my new dress and also discovering Wellington has some great sculptures to explore…
image

4 thoughts on “25/52 Deer & Doe-ish

    • Thanks. The dress fabric is an interesting colour, hard to describe as sometimes it looks khaki, up close you see the red. The fabric for the applique is a cotton that looks baton but it isn’t. It was awkward tracing/sewing round all of the edges of the stag head but I like the result and might try it again soon.

  1. I love love this dress! And your photos! But seriously, I love the creative and fun flair you bring to your wardrobe and think this is just brilliant. Genius even. And it looks great on you!

Leave a Reply

