PJs and Ham

Do you like PJs and ham?

I do not like PJs and ham!
I do not like them, Sam-I-am.
image

You do not like them.

So you say.
Try them! Try them!
And you may.
Try them and you may, I say.
image

Sam! If you will let me be,
I will try them. You will see.
image

Say!
I like PJs and ham!
I do! I like them, Sam-I-am!
And I would eat them in a boat.
And I would eat them with a goat…
image

And I will eat them in the rain.
And in the dark. And on a train.
And in a car. And in a tree.
They are so good, so good, you see!
image

So I will eat them in a box.
And I will eat them with a fox.
And I will eat them in a house.
And I will eat them with a mouse.
And I will eat them here and there.
Say! I will eat them ANYWHERE!
image

I do so like PJs and ham!
Thank you! Thank you, Sam-I-am!

Thank you Dr Seuss for inspiring my post today. I recently made flannel pyjama pants. The brown is from the $5/m rack of Petes Emporium, I love the retro feel of the little flowers. The grey is a btter quality fabric and is from Spotlight. Since I only got two metres I did a lace turn up for the ankle hems of the grey pair.
image
I bought the tees from K-mart late last year to embellish in some way. For the grey I used a scrap of fabric that I fused on then stitched down a few millimetres from the edge, then I applied a flocked stencil that irons on that I got from a sale bin for 80c. I have yet to decorate the red top.
image
I used a simple PJ pattern from my stash. Except they have stupidly wide legs.
image

And finally the ham I made with the help of Zara of off grid chic. I have wanted to make one for a while and she provided me a template from the Internet (Zara can you tell me where?) and the sawdust to fill it. I used an remnant of blue wool from the op shop and a furnishing fabric remnant that I had done a burn test on to ensure it was cotton, it has another layer of plain cotton on both sides inside. I think it took me longer to stuff it than to actually sew. It is a great tool that I now would recommend for everyone who sews.
image

11 thoughts on “PJs and Ham

  1. This is great ! It made me so happy.. Also, am out of the loop, what is a burn test? Is that just burning it to see if it burns like cotton or ironing it or what?

  2. Your posts always make me laugh so much. Thanks! I love the pjs, the ham, and the poem. But I’m disappointed you said there were more photos with the bear hat that you didn’t share!

Leave a Reply

