Been sewing and stuff

I’m back!  In my mind I have always said I will not apologise if I take a break from blogging, whether intentional or not, as this is supposed to be fun and not a burden.  So in the last few months I have been sewing again and even got some photos and now I have found the place to actual press Publish.

11 garments from last year that I have yet to blog about… I should get onto that

A photo posted by Sandra Mabey (@flossieftsewing) on Jan 13, 2015 at 1:02am PST

In the middle of January I put the above photo on instagram of the 11 garments from last year I had yet to blog about.  Now that number has grown so the following posts will have different lengths of hair, levels of tan and body measurements as I play catch up on everything.

I am going to start with one of the most recent makes, mostly because I have been wearing almost non-stop since I made it.  It is the Burda Style Esther CardiMel was wearing her version one day and I was inspired by how comfy it looked.

Esther Front FlossieFT

It honestly took me longer to tape up the PDF than it did to sew.  I used a woven (for a knit pattern) black of unknown fibre content (it definitely has some wool in it as it is VERY warm) and it frays like mad so I overlocked everything – even internal/hidden seams) after I had sewn them on my machine.

Esther Burda FlossieFT

It has wide band around the edges and wide cuffs that get folded up when in the office, but down when the wrists need warming.

Burda Esther FlossieFT wings

The body and sleeves are one pattern piece cut on the fold which seems weird to look at but makes sense as soon as you start to sew.

I think I will make another and I might even follow the rules and make it in a knit!

3 thoughts on “Been sewing and stuff

  1. Hang on, you’re talking about following the rules?!?! Never! 😉

    Really love this style on you, by the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

